1ESO Domain

Three domain system is a biological classification introduced by Carl Woese in 1977 that divides cellular life forms into archaea, bacteria and eukaryote domains.

Domain Archaea – prokaryotic, no nuclear membrane. This domain include some of the oldest species of organisms on Earth (archaebacteria) often characterized by living in extreme environments, such as methanogens which produce the gas methane, halophiles which live in very salty water, thermoacidophiles which thrive in in acidic high temperature water.

Domain Bacteria: consists of prokaryotic cells without nuclear membrane. Some examples include Cyanobacteria (photosynthesizing bacteria), Gram-negative (that include those causing syphilis); Gram-positive (that include Bifidobacterium which is present in the human large intestine)

Domain Eukaryota eukaryotes, organisms that contain a membrane bound nucleus.

~ por silviapvadi en abril 29, 2015.